DIY: Breathe new life into your flowerpot!

01-IMG_6165

Now that it’s summer, everybody likes to enjoy the sun on their patios, their balconies or in their gardens. To give your plants a pretty home, this tutorial shows you how to spruce up your flower pots!

The whole thing started with a terracotta flowerpot – we got it from our previous tenant and they got it from their previous tenant… The flowerpot had been standing outside on our windowsill for a long time. From time to time, we grew herbs in it – but they didn’t survive for long as the water did not drain. You get the picture – our basil died and the flowerpot was time-worn. Until I decided to spruce it up and paint it brightly 🙂

What you need:

  • a flower pot or whatever needs a makeover (this also works for candlestands)
  • Acrylic paint (white as a primer and, in my case, red as the main color)
  • Gloss varnish
  • A paintbrush
  • Turpentine (to clean the paintbrushes)
  • Sandpaper

Step 1: Cleaning

Clean the flowerpot thoroughly – in order to apply the color directly to the flowerpot and not to a crust of dirt 😉 The candlestand I wanted to paint was lacquered, so I first had to remove the varnish using sandpaper. During the following steps, I treated the candlestand just as I treated the flowerpot.

Step 2: Priming

Next, I used the white acrylic paint as a primer. I put the paint into a plastic cup and applied it undiluted to the surface. I applied several layers of the paint to get a nice priming. Of course, I let them dry inbetween. Also, I applied the white paint to all sides of the flowerpot – inside, outside, on top and bottom of the flowerpot. And: don’t forget to let it dry thoroughly before turning it on its head, otherweise your flowerpot will stick to the newspaper 😉

02-02-IMG_5255

Step 3: Painting

Then, I painted the flowerpot. Simply apply several layers of the red paint (or whichever color you chose) on the priming. Don’t forget to let it dry between layers 😉 When I applied the paint to my flowerpot, the brush strokes were still visible – but I like this irregular look. If you don’t like it, you might try using spray paint or diluting the paint with water before applying it.

Step 4: Varnishing

Afterwards, I applied the varnish using the paint brush. I paid attention to cover all parts of the flowerpot with varnish. That was quite difficult at times as the varnish is seethrough 😉 Then, I removed the varnish from the paint brush using turpentine.

Step 5: Planting!

After having painted the flowerpot, it’s ready for pretty flowers or yummy herbs! Now, I like the flowerpot so much that I placed it in my kitchen – no miserable existence on the windowsill anymore.  What I love most: the red flowerpot is a wonderful contrast to the green plants, which lets them radiate 🙂

01-IMG_6165

Of course, I did not plant any flowers in my candle stand – instead, I put a pretty candle in it 😉

I hope my blog inspires you to prettify flowerpots or whichever objects you prefer 🙂 Of course, you don’t have to color them in one color only: you can also paint a color gradient or stripes – the only limit is your imagination!

Hier geht’s zum deutschen Blogbeitrag!

One thought on “DIY: Breathe new life into your flowerpot!

Leave a Reply

