Fall Cowl à la Asante

4-4-img_20160924_144047

In my first blog entry, I want to show you how to knit a lightweight cowl in gorgeous fall colors – perfect for this season! This cowl was inspired by the Asante-Cowl by sweetgeorgia yarns.

The pattern by sweetgeorgia yarns is available in English and can be downloaded here.

I knitted my version of the shawl in thinner yarn – it was a 4ply yarn (or AE: 1, super fine), which is usually used for sock knitting. For the dark green part, for instance, I used Timeless Acryl, which I bought at Stoff und Stil – this yarn is also available in many different, beautiful colors. Unfortunately, I cannot tell you which other yarns I used, since I mostly used leftover yarn from my stash. The final cowl has a diameter of roughly 65cm (25.5 inches) and is about 58cm (23 inches) long.

5-5-img_20160924_150737

You need:

  • a circular knitting needle of 3.0 mm/UK 11/ US 2-3 (or any other size needed to obtain gauge)
  • 5 skeins of 4ply/super fine yarn in different colors (about 350m/100g)
  • a sewing needle

Gauge: 26 stitches and 35 rounds with the knitting needle indicated above equalled a 10x10cm square (or a 4×4 inch square) in stockinette stitch for me.

For the cowl, I cast on 178 stitches and closed the round – here, I also placed a stitch marker to indicate the beginning of a new row. Then, I knitted 8 rounds in a blue yarn in 1×1 ribbed pattern – i.e. alternating knit and purl stitches. In the following rounds, I first alternated knit and purl stitches six times at the beginning of the round and knitted the remaining stitches of the round. I did so for 34 rounds. Overall, I knit 42 rounds with the blue yarn – all stripes were 42 rounds long.

1-1-img_20160924_140745

Afterwards, I changed the yarn and knitted a moustard yellow stripe in the same manner (i.e. alternating knitting and purling one stitch six times, knitting all remaining stitches of the round). I did the same in dark and rust brown.

The last stripe was dark green – here, I first knit 34 rounds in the established manner. The last rounds were knit in 1×1 rib pattern. Finally, I bound off all stitches and wove in the ends.

The cowl is very comfortable and I love its colors! Also (and probably most importantly, as it’s a cowl), it keeps your neck nicely warm – which is necessary especially now in the first days of fall.

You can take a look at my project on ravelry here. Furthermore, you can look at the pattern and the projects of other ravellers. I think the projects of others can be very inspiring, especially because you can see how different colors interact with each other in a certain pattern.

Falls du diesen Beitrag auf deutsch lesen möchtest, klicke hier.

One thought on “Fall Cowl à la Asante

Leave a Reply

